Detox Program. Day 3

I never did update about the rest of my progress on yesterday.  I came up 2 cups short of my goal.  I didn’t drink my last bottle of water (which would have satisfied the remaining 2 cups).  I had 2 cups of spinach juice and called it a night.  The spinach juice…well rather FROTH…was prepared simply by blending spinach leaves straight from the bag into the blender.  Adding water to dilute and eliminate some of the bubbles didn’t even cure the frothy texture.  I sucked it up and downed it (and mentally felt sick). 

I initially entered into this detox Sunday weighing 147 (I’m 5 feet 8 inches tall and just started that magical time of the month so I wasn’t feeling the lightest anyway).  This morning, I got on my scale (which isn’t the most reliable piece of tool I own) and it says I weigh 139!  Granted, most of the weight lost was water weight but still, I had no idea that I was down 8 pounds!  I mean I figure I would get down to 135 by the end of this one week detox on next Sunday but I might get there by tomorrow or Friday at this weight!  It is kind of exciting and scary at the same time because the last time I weighed 135 was freshmen year in college in 2001.  I will post my before and after pictures when it is all said and done.

I just asked my boyfriend what he expects to gain from this.  He said “Mental strength for my physical body.”  Great answer because it really takes a LOT of mental strength to overcome that temptation to quit and go eat that Bo’Jangles.  If it wasn’t for his determination, I probably would have cheated.  He has kept me strong for the past few days.  We joke about what we will eat at 12:01am Monday morning when our detox is over.  LOL…we are so silly.  He said he was going to start baking the lasagna at 10:30pm Sunday night so it will be ready for us to chow down after midnight.  I just pray that we will continue to be mentally and spiritually strengthened from this experience and that once it is over, we don’t abuse our temples with junk and will take better care of our bodies.  I haven’t figured out exactly how I will break my fast but I guess I still have a little time to think about it.

Anyhoo, today, I felt better when I woke up and got started compared to yesterday.  I managed to have the following today:

  • 2 cups of cabbage
  • 4 cups of zucchini, cauliflower, and green bean blend
  • 4 cups of apple juice
  • 6 cups of water
  • 1 cup of carrot soup (My boo boo created a knock-off version of sweet potato soup, and it was MMM MMM GOOD!  We both looked at each other and said we can do this detox thing for sure now…lol.)

I am going to down a bottle of water before bed so I will reach my 4 quart goal of the day.  I worked out for about 45 minutes today in the fitness center at my apartment complex with a combo of cardio and lower body strength training.  I still get VERY drained by the end of the day but it has gotten better since I first started.  Lets see how I feel tomorrow.

One Response

  1. Spinach juice? You are one very brave Popeye!

    The WORST juice I’ve ever had was a raw Potato and Turnip juice. It was vile – I had to drink it over the kitchen sink as I kept gagging after each swallow. NEVER AGAIN.

    I like your boyfriend’s answer. Most of it is down to mental strength which is where a lot of people fail (i.e. self-discipline, self-doubt)

    Be careful/gentle with what you break the fast with.

    Sweet potato soup …mmmmmm 🙂

Leave a Reply

